Life Is Not A Bed Of Roses

“Today is going to be a great day”.

Dans mon Iphone 589.JPG
When in Lund – Starring Marie

This is what I’ve been telling myself lately.. Confidence with regards to the fact that this world is NOT falling apart. I like to think that every question and answer is just a point of view, so although everything may well be falling apart, I try to focus on the fact that I am still standing. Don’t get me wrong, this is not some sort of selfish act, rather a self celebration.

It’s just that I’ve had a lot of projects for myself and I never really take a minute and appreciate how far I’ve come. Take this blog- I’ve been delaying it for years. Even if I have only written four articles and have only been writing for two weeks, it brings me joy and that is all that matters at the end of the day.. right?

However, writing is only one of the flowers in my garden of projects. I try to keep an eye on all my flowers; watering them, feeding them, taking care of them as I admire their natural perfection every day.

The thing is, a seed rarely looks anything like what it will become. You have to make sure you take care of it, work on it, and it will take shape and form in time. You just have to trust the elements and, of course, yourself.

We don’t trust ourselves anymore because we’ve been formatted to do as people say (people who might tell you what to do because apparently they know better..!). We tend to not appreciate anymore how it feels to enjoy the little things. People don’t just bump into a restaurant and try it out this days, we always seem to need validation, so we check the countless reviews beforehand just to make sure it has at least 4 stars (or some kind of deal..!). So now is it ever really our choice? It is truly not the end of the world to find out a restaurant may not be to your taste, at least you tried? Making independent decisions is important.

I’m speaking about restaurants but it could be about anything else that matters. Sometimes following the simplest advice will affect your whole life, such as what to study, where to live.

The problem is that once someone has planted that seed in your garden, you should be very careful not to let it grow into your worst nightmare. For dreams that you haven’t fought for, or that you haven’t wished for become roses of Bengal. From afar, they look look exactly like a regular rose except they do not have any thorns. They are quite easy to reach and won’t hurt you if you try to pick them. Only this- they have no scent.

I heard once that when people are asked what is their favourite tree, they often say palm tree or Christmas tree. It’s quite funny because these trees take years to grow before they reach the size that everybody expects them to be.

You get the picture right? It’s okay if your secret garden does not look like Kensington Gardens. It’s okay if your flowers look more like blossoms. It’s okay to be a work in progress.

You want that garden to be ready when you are ready to stop.

In fairness, there are few who are..

And although sometimes it feels like the grass is greener on the other side, remember we don’t all live on the same soil but we DO live under the same sun.

And while some people get to grow whatever flowers they want because they can afford a gardener, you will have managed to grow the most beautiful flowers, come rain or snow, if you tend to them with your own hands. And that, my friend, is irreplaceable.

 

—-

Leave a Reply

